Board Open Positions


Russ Nichols has served as the Director of the Enterprise Information Services Division within the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation since January 2015. Prior to that, Russ was the director of the CDCR Strategic Offender Management Systems’ Program.  Russ has nearly 10 years working for CDCR.  As the Department’s Agency Information Officer, Russ is responsible for the technology solutions provided throughout CDCR and more than 640 Information Technology employees who create and support those solutions.

Russ’ career within California State government spans 26 years and includes positions with the State Controller’s Office (SCO), the California Employment Development Department (EDD) and the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CalFire).

Russ earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science from California State University, Sacramento, and served in the United States Marine Corps.


John Daugherty is Chief Information Officer of the Montana Department of Corrections, responsible for overseeing the management, implementation, and operations of information systems and infrastructure that directly supports the mission of the Department.   John was appointed as the Interim Deputy Director on January 1st 2017 through July 14, 2017.   John has twice been awarded the Governor’s award for excellence in performance and was the recipient of the 2015 Corrections Technology Association President’s award.

John served two terms as chair of the Montana Information Technology Council (ITMC) from 2005-2007.  He was reappointed in 2012, by Governor Schweitzer, to a two-year term on the ITMC executive board.   In 2015 he was appointed, by the Governor Bullock, to a two-year term on the Montana Information Security Advisory Council.   In 2016 and 2017 he was appointed, by Governor Bullock, to a one-year term on the ITMC executive board.  He has served as an executive board member of the Corrections Technology Association since 2003 and was elected to another 2-year term in May 2016.   He is also the current vice chair of the IJIS Institute Corrections Advisory Committee, serves as the vice chair of the Montana Enterprise IT Financial Workgroup and is a member of the Montana Criminal Justice Oversight Council.

He has previously served as an agency representative on the State of Montana Data Center steering committee, the Montana Criminal Justice Information Sharing Project, Montana Integrated Justice Information Systems Broker steering committee, as Montana’s representative on the National Law Enforcement and Corrections Rocky Mountain Technology Assessment Committee, and as a member of State of Montana Computer Security Incident Response Team.

John was a member of the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) funded project team to create a national information sharing standard for Statewide Automated Victim Information and Notification (SAVIN) and was instrumental in Montana becoming the first state to implement the new standard.  He served on the BJA funded PREA Data Standards working group to create national data standards supporting the national Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA.  John was one of the original authors of the Corrections Technology Functional Specifications for Offender Management Systems, which is a standard that all major Offender Management System providers in the US and Canada reference.    He served with a team on a yearlong project to update this document, which was published in 2016.  He also served on a Reentry Information Sharing Project Advisory Board which developed a standard called the Corrections Information Sharing Service Specification and on the National Institute of Justice funded Corrections Advisory Panel in the development the publication “Fostering Innovation in Community and Institutional Corrections”.  Most recently has been a contributor on the IJIS “Corrections Tech 2020: Technological Trends in Custodial & Community Corrections” whitepaper released in 2017.



Joyce Taylor began her career in Corrections 28 years ago working her way through the ranks to Assistant IT Administrator for Application Development with Arkansas DOC.  She has been an active member of CTA since 2006.  In 2013 she was elected to the position of Secretary for the CTA Board.
She has been a key player in several recent Arkansas DOC technology initiatives including the Electronic Offender Management System, biometric verification for visitors and staff, sex offender assessment automation, electronic health records, and the Reduction of Sexual Victimization Program.  She has presented several of these projects at previous CTA workshops.